Rules for Living Life, Part 8

I recently had the opportunity to spend a few days studying the Battle of Gettysburg by walking around the battlefield with a military historian. The leadership training course I was taking centered on key individuals in the campaign and how their actions (or inactions) should guide me as a leader in my own organization.

Throughout the battle, leaders on both sides displayed a number of exemplary traits and we carefully examined the leadership trait they each personified.  As I step back to try and understand the entire battle, though, one overriding factor seemed to tie everything together. Serendipitously, it is my eighth Rule for Living Life: Be fearless and believe in your mission. David didn’t kill Goliath – his faith did.

If this is the first post in this series that you are reading, this is a series of blogs based on a set of rules for living my life that I developed by merging a set of secular rules together with my understanding of the teachings of Jesus of Nazareth. If you want to start at the beginning of this series, you can start here.

Without getting into the historical specifics, the concept of “mission” and the causal relationship between whether the mission was communicated and unquestioningly accepted and the leader’s success in the battle was tangible. For Robert E. Lee, the mission was to annihilate the Union Army: a mission that many of his staff could not support because their strategy in the War for Southern Independence was to defend their soil, drive the Northern Army from the Southern states, and secure a separated peace.  For General Meade, the mission was to defend his country from invasion, preserve the Union, and emancipate the southern slaves. His army supported him completely.

When pushed beyond physical and mental limits, it was their belief in the mission that gave the Union Army strength and resolve. Conversely, the lack of mission clarity and belief caused the Confederates to hesitate and stall. Their hesitation drove the desperation that ultimately resulted in defeat.

Examples of this causality are also evident in the lives of many other highly impactful people. When a person devotes themselves to a mission they believe in completely, the results they can achieve are awe-inspiring. Conversely, if you are dispassionate about something, it seems like the barriers expand exponentially and the energy reserves you have are never enough. Right?

But how do you know what your mission is?

I think the answer to that question is in the rule itself: be fearless. I believe that in each of our hearts we all have something we would do if truly fearless – something you would do if all obstacles were removed.

For me, that deep-seated desire is to be a writer.

In this series, we have discussed a few seminal moments in my life. One of the earliest was a radio commercial I heard when I was 13. In the commercial, a boy arrives at the gates of heaven after wrecking his car (it was a safe-driving public service message). The angel greets him and begins reassigning key aspects of his life to others due to his premature death.

“Okay, let’s see. Oh! You were going to be a famous author – you don’t see that one very often…” the angel says.

For some reason that resonated with me. And it still resonates with me.

Of course, as an engineer, I did nothing to learn how to become a famous author. I did not follow my path and I have never been fearless in pursuing that mission. But that voice has never left my head and that resonance has never left my heart.

Rule 8, like many of the other rules, relies on faith. The difference here is that the faith you have to have is faith in yourself.

Here again, the key is in the explanatory statement: David didn’t kill Goliath – his faith did. What this statement is intended to convey is the duality that you must have enough faith to step out of ranks to take on your mission and that you have the tools needed to face the challenge. It also subtly reminds me that failing to devote myself to a providential circumstance causes that opportunity to pass me by.

Tying this back to Rule 7, though, there is a dangerous corollary: just because you step up to face your mission, your idea of success is not guaranteed. Nowhere could provide a greater metaphor for this than the National Cemetery at Gettysburg. No one could articulate this better than Lincoln did when he gave his Gettysburg Address.

“It is rather for us to be here and take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion – that we here resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain – that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom…”

Thousands of men confronted their Goliath on that battlefield and though they were not individually successful at staying alive, the campaign to end slavery progressed. And that was undoubtedly part of God’s plan. And today, their ghosts inspire new generations of leaders. That is immortality and maybe that was God’s plan, too.

Finally, there is a poster that always stuck with me. It is in the style of those inspirational posters but this one is a parody. On the poster is the image of a shipwreck with the saying: Mistakes; It could be that the meaning of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.

That resonates with me as well. We do not get to choose our outcome but we do get to choose whether or not we participate.  

And remember: we’re all walking through a darkened city at night with a penlight. None of us are seeing more than a small piece of the landscape…

5 thoughts on “Rules for Living Life, Part 8

  1. I think my favorite study of Gettysburg leadership is Col. Chamberlain at Little Round Top. Right to your point— we don’t get to choose what role we play, but we do get to choose to play.

    Like

    1. Absolutely! Chamberlain is a classic example of standing up for your mission and not allowing your providential circumstances pass you by. A schoolteacher at the start of the war he took a sabbatical after the Dean refused his request for leave and joined the Union Army. He knew history was calling and he answered.

      Thanks for the comment!!

      Like

  2. I read this twice, trying to decide what I thought. I do believe you have to absolutely have a clear mission otherwise you flounder and it’s easy to be knocked back and give up, but what I was mulling over is the word, ‘fearless’. This is because I know I have a clear mission (several, actually) but sometimes there is no way to work towards them without fear. What I have to decide to do, is to push that fear aside and move on anyway. It doesn’t mean I’m not afraid, just that I’m accepting that fear and not allowing it to dictate what risk I will take.

    Sometimes I take a moment (or two) and coddle my fear, entertain it a bit, but then I shove it back in the box and keep going. In fact, I think maybe the knowledge of that fear is what makes the challenge exciting. See fear! I’m not letting you control me!

    I guess then, I do agree with the rule. I have to put the fear down if I’m going to carry out my mission. I’d just add that I think it’s important to acknowledge that fear — that it’s real and if you let it, it can take you down. But accomplishing a mission in spite of that fear is powerful. Huge, really. And immensely more satisfying than doing something that’s not scary.

    Great post.

    Like

    1. Cara – thank you for the great comment and discussion point. It’s such an honor to have the author of one of People Magazine’s Best New Books reading my blog!!

      As a writer, one of my goals is to cause you to think about what I am stating and challenge it. I want you to think to yourself: no – that’s not quite right! But if, as you think about it more, you realize that it does ring true, my hope is that it awakens an understanding. For me, that has always been the key to self-awareness.

      You are absolutely right in that “being fearless” does not mean you live without fear. You act in spite of that fear. Having read your blogs, I can unequivocally state that you exemplify this rule. I can barely take my dog to the dog park without fearing that either he will be mauled by some ferocious, untamed beast or that he himself will suddenly become irritated at another dog and become that beast himself. You bring dogs into your home to help them transition from often bad situations to becoming the forever friend of a new family. Reading the stories of many of your dogs (Frankie, Gala, others) I get to vicariously live the amazing joys that come from living fearlessly, embracing these animals with your agape love for them, and nurturing them back to mental (and often physical) health.

      You are an inspiration! Thank you for sharing your heart here – we can all learn from what you do.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.